The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award began in the UK in the 1950s. It has grown to include countries all over the world and tens of thousands of students are involved worldwide every year. The award suits students who are already doing some extra-curricular activities. The sections include an expedition (for example a tramp), sport, skill, and service.

Gaining the Duke of Edinburgh’s Hillary award requires commitment. If you complete the award at any level, you will have an edge when it comes to applying for jobs later on because you have developed a wide range of skills by the time you’ve completed it.

3 levels of the award exist:

  • Bronze – suitable for Year 10 students
  • Silver – suitable for Year 11 students
  • Gold – suitable for Year 12 and 13 students

Depending on the level of the award, the expedition, sport, skill and service components are followed for increasing lengths as you progress from Bronze – Silver – Gold.

The Gold award also includes a residential component.

Our school tramps are open to students who are just keen to be a part of the tramping club, in addition to those who are following the Duke Of Edinburgh’s Hillary Award to completion at one or other of the levels.




No. This is a new rule that the Duke of Ed office has put in place from 2022. You must complete one level before starting the next one.
  • Bronze $110
  • Silver $110
  • Gold $130

If you are interested in the award, pay the above fee to the school account. Mrs. Schmitt, our Award Leader (e-mail address below) will then organise your registration and give you access to the Online Record Book.