Learning Areas | Wellington College

Learning Areas

In New Zealand, the national curriculum sets the direction for learning.  The current New Zealand Curriculum which was launched by the Minister of Education in November 2007 and introduced to schools in 2010 is based around “key competencies”.  These competencies are developed in eight different learning areas:

        The Arts (Visual Art, Music and Drama)
        Learning Languages
        Social Sciences  (Social Studies, Geography, History and Commerce)
At Wellington College, Year 9 and 10 students undertake courses of study in each of these learning areas.  In Years 11 and 12, students choose 6 courses.  In Year 13, either 5 or 6 courses are selected.